Melvin Bouva

Melvin Bouva

President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union Forum of Young Parliamentarians

Melvin Bouva (Paramaribo, March 9, 1982) is a Surinamese politician. He was the first elected president of the National Youth Parliament from 2004 to 2007. In 2010 he became a member of the National Assembly. He has been vice-president of this parliament since 2015.

After the National Youth Parliament was established in 2004, he was one of the first group of elected youth parliamentarians to be installed on November 3, 2004. Two weeks later, he succeeded the first provisional chairman Rayen Vyent by means of a vote in parliament. It stayed on until October 2007.

After this he became a Youth Ambassador for the Millennium Development Goals of the UN (together with Yldiz Beighle). In these years he also wrote columns. In 2009 he joined the National Democratic Party of Desi Bouterse. His choice for the NDP was surprising at the time, because until then he was mainly placed in the corner of the NPS of Ronald Venetiaan. When he stood for election on April 1, 2010 for the elections in May, he resigned his position as youth ambassador for principled political reasons.

In the meantime he obtained his bachelor's degree in law from the Anton de Kom University of Suriname. Later, in August 2015, he graduated with a master's degree in public administration.

Bouva argued in the run-up to the 2010 elections that Bouterse could still be elected president in the event of a conviction for the December murders. He substantiated this with the comparison that Nelson Mandela has also been in prison. Two years after he became a member of the National Assembly (DNA), in 2012, he was one of the initiators of the Amnesty Act that was supposed to prevent Bouterse from being convicted for the December murders. However, the process had already started and then continued as usual.

In 2015 he was elected vice president of DNA. In addition, in 2019 in Qatar, he was elected chair of the Forum of Young Parliamentarians belonging to the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

In 2018, he was included in the list of 100 Most Influential People in the World in African Diaspora (MIPAD) under 40, set by the United Nations General Assembly. He was awarded the prize for this at the beginning of October 2019.

In 2019, Minister Lekhram Soerdjan of Spatial Planning, Land and Forest Management and Bouva came up with an incentive plan for high marks, by rewarding the six best graduates of school institutions with a plot of land in Reeberg in Wanica. Building land is scarce in Suriname in 2019 and difficult for people to obtain.

In the 2020 elections, he was reelected for a five-year term in DNA.

Мелвин Боува

Мелвин Боува

Председатель Форума молодых парламентариев Межпарламентского союза

Мелвин Бува (Парамарибо, 9 марта 1982 года) - суринамский политик. Он был первым избранным председателем Национального молодежного парламента с 2004 по 2007 год. В 2010 году он стал депутатом Национального Собрания. Он был вице-президентом этого парламента с 2015 года.

После создания Национального молодежного парламента в 2004 году он был одним из первых избранных молодежных парламентариев, которые были созданы 3 ноября 2004 года. Две недели спустя он сменил первого временного председателя Райена Вьента путем голосования в парламенте. Он продержался до октября 2007 года.

После этого он стал молодежным послом по целям развития тысячелетия ООН (вместе с Илдизом Бейлем). В эти годы он также писал колонки. В 2009 году он вступил в Национально-демократическую партию Дези Бутерсе. Его выбор в пользу НДП в то время был неожиданным, потому что до этого он был главным образом помещен в угол НПС Рональда Венециана. Когда он баллотировался на выборах 1 апреля 2010 года для участия в выборах в мае, он подал в отставку с поста посла молодежи по принципиальным политическим причинам.

Тем временем он получил степень бакалавра права в Университете Антона де кома в Суринаме. Позже, в августе 2015 года, он получил степень магистра государственного управления.

В преддверии выборов 2010 года Бува утверждал, что Бутерсе все еще может быть избран президентом в случае осуждения за декабрьские убийства. Он обосновал это тем, что Нельсон Мандела тоже сидел в тюрьме. Через два года после того, как он стал членом Национального Собрания (ДНК), в 2012 году, он был одним из инициаторов закона Об амнистии, который должен был предотвратить осуждение Бутерсе за декабрьские убийства. Однако процесс уже начался, а затем продолжился в обычном режиме.

В 2015 году он был избран вице-президентом DNA. Кроме того, в 2019 году в Катаре он был избран председателем форума молодых парламентариев, входящих в Межпарламентский союз.

В 2018 году он был включен в список 100 самых влиятельных людей в мире в африканской диаспоре (MIPAD) в возрасте до 40 лет, установленный Генеральной Ассамблеей ООН. Премию за это ему присудили в начале октября 2019 года.

В 2019 году министр территориального планирования, землеустройства и лесного хозяйства Лехрам Соэрджян и компания Bouva разработали план стимулирования за высокие оценки, наградив шесть лучших выпускников школьных учреждений земельным участком в Риберге в Ванице. В 2019 году в Суринаме не хватает земли для строительства, и людям трудно ее получить.

На выборах 2020 года он был переизбран на пятилетний срок в ДНК.