Ryszard Komenda 

Ryszard Komenda 

Mr. Ryszard Komenda is to assume his duties as a Regional Representative for OHCHR Regional Office for Central Asia as of May 2016. He was selected for this post after completing his job as the Senior Advisor on Human Rights to the UN Country Team in the Russian Federation.

Mr. Komenda is a human rights lawyer with Master’s of Laws (LL.M.) degree in International Human Rights (University of Ottawa, Canada) and Magister Juris (University of Gdansk, Poland).  His professional career spans over the last twenty years advancing international agenda with relation to human rights, human security and gender equality.  The area of his expertise include: international human rights protection, international development, peace and security, gender and peacebuilding.

His professional assignments included the organizations such as the Canadian Red Cross Society, the United Nations Fund for Women (UNIFEM), Canadian Federal Department of Foreign Affairs, Canadian International Development Agency, the Council of Baltic Sea States; the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), and the UN department for Peacekeeping Operations (DPKO).   Among others, Mr. Ryszard Komenda was the Head of Human Rights Office in Abkhazia, Georgia (UNOMIG) in November 2007, and held this position till the closure of the office in 2009.

Ришард Коменда

Ришард Коменда

Региональный представитель УВКПЧ в Центральной Азии

Г-н Рышард Коменда приступит к исполнению своих обязанностей регионального представителя регионального отделения УВКПЧ в Центральной Азии с мая 2016 года. Он был избран на эту должность после завершения своей работы в качестве старшего советника по правам человека страновой группы ООН в Российской Федерации.

Г-н Коменда-юрист по правам человека со степенью магистра права (LL.Магистр права человека (Оттавский университет, Канада) и магистр права (Гданьский университет, Польша). Его профессиональная карьера охватывает последние двадцать лет продвижения международной повестки дня в области прав человека, безопасности человека и гендерного равенства. В сферу его компетенции входят: международная защита прав человека, международное развитие, мир и безопасность, гендерная проблематика и миростроительство.

Его профессиональные обязанности включали такие организации, как канадское общество Красного Креста, фонд Организации Объединенных Наций для женщин (ЮНИФЕМ), канадский Федеральный департамент иностранных дел, Канадское агентство международного развития, Совет государств Балтийского моря; Управление Верховного комиссара по правам человека (УВКПЧ) и Департамент операций ООН по поддержанию мира (ДОПМ). В частности, г-н Рышард Коменда возглавил отделение по правам человека в Абхазии, Грузия (МООННГ) в ноябре 2007 года и занимал эту должность до закрытия отделения в 2009 году.

Г-н Коменда родился в 1957 году в Польше. Он женат, у него двое детей-Соня и Александр.