Samarkand

Samarkand is not only beautiful but also very important in historical aspect. Samarkand city is the second largest city after its “big brother” Tashkent. Like Tashkent, Samarkand once was the capital of Uzbekistan. Proudly standing right in the center of Uzbekistan, on the left bank of the Zarafshan River, Samarkand generously welcomes everyone wanting to know its unbelievable breathtaking story which takes the beginning in the earliest days of humanity. Samarkand attracts tourists and scientists from all over the world with the stunning architecture, spirit of harmony, quietness and, of course, with many historical riddles and mysteries.

 

Top sightseeing of Samarkand city

 

 

Registan square

The Registan Square is a real gem located in the very heart of the ancient city of Samarkand. It has gained its worldwide fame thanks to the great architectural ensemble that has become a monument of the oriental architecture. From three sides, the square is surrounded with grand madrassah, portals of which are facing the center of the space. All three erections have their own unique décor. It is by virtue of these buildings, preserved on the territory of the city, Samarkand was included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2001. For more information, click here.

 

 

Mausoleum of Amir Temur

One of the most significant architectural ensembles of medieval East – the Gur Emir was built in the southwestern part of Samarkand at the beginning of the XV century. This majestic complex consisted of a khanaka, the madrasah of Muhammad Sultan - grandson of Amir Timur, and, later, tombs of Amir Timur himself and his descendants. For more information, click here.

 

 

Shahi Zinda Ensemble 

Shakhi Zinda is the burial place of royal persons and nobles. But the main mausoleum from which the necropolis starts seems to be the imaginary grave of Prophet Muhammad's cousin, Kusam ibn Abbas. The complex was called "Shakhi Zinda" that means in Persian "The Living King". He was one of those who preached Islam in that region. Later the Complex became an important pilgrimage centre that was revered by the people as sacred. For more information, click here.

 

 

 

 

Observatory of Ulugbek

Among historical monuments of Samarkand observatory takes particular place, constructed by Ulugbek in 1428-1429 on one of the hills on height, at the bottom of Chupanata altitude. For more information, click here.

 

 

 

St. Daniel’s Tomb

There is hardly any place in the world is a where Muslim, Christian and Jew come to pray. But this Tomb of the Old Testament Prophet Daniel, also known as Daniiel, or Doniyar. For more information, click here.

 

 

Bibi Khanoum Mosque

The majestic blue domes of the Bibi-Khanym Mosque are the unusual sight.It takes one’s breath even from understanding the scale of construction of this monument, impressing with its size and beauty. In antiquity the dome of this mosque was compared with the dome of heaven and the arch of portal – with the Milky Way. For more information, click here.

 

 

Siab bazaar

Siab Bazaar is one of the oldest bazaars in Samarkand, situated between the mosque of Bibi Khanum and Shokhi Zinda complex, not far away from the Registan. Since ancient times, it was the center of social life for citizens, there were purchase – sale, national festivities but today Siab bazaar meets customers with abundance of fruits and vegetables, melons and grains. For more information, click here.

 

 CLIMATE IN SAMARKAND

Samarkand features a Mediterranean climate that closely borders on a semi-arid climate with hot, dry summers and relatively wet, variable winters that alternate periods of warm weather with periods of cold weather. Most of the sparse precipitation is received from December through April. January 2008 was particularly cold, and the temperature dropped to −22 °C

.

Самарканд

Не только прекрасный, но и очень важный в историческом аспекте, город Самарканд, является вторым по величине городом после Ташкента. Подобно Ташкенту, Самарканд однажды был столицей Узбекистана. Город расположен в центре Узбекистана, с левой стороны реки Зарафшан, Самарканд великодушно приветствует каждого, кто захотел узнать его невероятную историю, которая берет начало в самых ранних днях человечества. Самарканд привлекает туристов и ученых со всего света с ошеломляющей архитектурой, духом гармонии и тишины и, конечно же, со многими историческими загадками и мистериями.

 

Достопримечательности города Самарканд

 

 

Площадь Регистан

В самом сердце древнейшего города Самарканда расположилась настоящая жемчужина – площадь Регистан. Всемирную славу это место приобрело благодаря великолепному архитектурному комплексу, ставшему памятником восточного зодчества. С трех сторон площадь окружают величественные медресе, порталы которых обращены к центру пространства. Все три строения имеют свой уникальный декор, различающийся между собою. Благодаря таким зданиям, сохранившимся на территории города, в 2001 году Самарканд был включён в список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Нажмите сюда, для получения дополнительной информации

 

Мавзолей Амира Темура

В начале XV века в юго-западной части Самарканда был построен один из знаковых архитектурных ансамблей средневекового Востока – Гур-Эмир. Этот величественный комплекс состоял из ханака, медресе Мухаммад Султана – внука Амира Тимура и более поздней гробницы самого Амира Тимура и его потомков. Нажмите сюда, для получения дополнительной информации

 

 

Погребальный комплекс Шахи-Зинда

Шахи Зинда - место захоронения царственных особ и знати. Но основным мавзолеем, откуда и начинается некрополь, считается мнимая могила двоюродного брата пророка Мухаммеда - Кусама ибн-Аббаса. Его так и называли «Шахи Зинда», что в переводе с персидского означает «Живой Царь». Он был одним из тех, кто проповедовал ислам в этом крае и позже этот комплекс стал важным местом паломничества, почитаемым в народе как святыня. Нажмите сюда, для получения дополнительной информации

 

Обсерватория Улугбека

Среди исторических памятников Самарканда особое место занимает обсерватория, сооруженная Улугбеком в 1428-1429 годах на одном из холмов на возвышенностях Кухак. Нажмите сюда, для получения дополнительной информации

 

 

Мавзолей Пророка(Ходжи) Данияра

Вряд ли найдется в мире такое место, куда приходили бы помолиться мусульманин, христианин и иудей. Но такое место есть в Самарканде – это могила святого Донияра (Даниил, Даниэль). Нажмите сюда, для получения дополнительной информации

  

 

Мечеть Биби-Ханум

Величественные голубые купола мечети Биби-ханум – необыкновенное зрелище. Дух захватывает уже от того, с каким размахом построено это монументальное сооружение, поражающее своими размерами и красотой. Её купол в древности сравнивали с небесным сводом, а арку портала - с Млечным Путем. Нажмите сюда, для получения дополнительной информации

 

Cиабский базар

Сиабский базар является одним из древнейших базаров в Самарканде, расположен между мечетью Биби Ханум и комплексом Шохи Зинда, недалеко от Регистана. С незапамятных времен центр являлся общественной жизнью горожан, здесь занимались купли-продажей, устраивались народные гуляния, но и сегодня Сиабский базар встречает покупателей обилием фруктов и овощей, бахчевыми и зерновыми культурами. Нажмите сюда, для получения дополнительной информации

 

Климат Самарканда

Самарканд отличается средиземноморским климатом, который тесно граничит с полузасушливым климатом с жарким, сухим летом и относительно влажными переменными зимами, которые чередуют периоды теплой погоды с периодами холодной погоды. Большая часть редких осадков поступают с декабря по апрель.